Creating a Project Site

NOTE: only Duke faculty, staff and students can create project sites.

Watch a short video below:

Step-by-step instructions:

Log in to Sakai (http://sakai.duke.edu). Go to “My Workspace” and click Worksite Setup.

 

At the top of the “Worksite Setup” page, click New.

On the “Site Type” page, select the button next to Project Site and click Continue.

Then you will be asked to (1) review and accept the Terms of Service , (2) indicate the purpose of the project site you are creating, and (3) click Create Site to finish.

 

For the “Project Site Information” form, you are required to fill out the Site Title. (Note – the title is limited to 17 characters). You will also be prompted to provide a site description and given advanced options for URL creation. Note: The description can be changed later on the home page under “Site Info Display.”

 

At the bottom of the form, be sure to confirm the contact information for the site and hit Continue.


 

The next page asks which tools should be available in your site. You do not have to choose all the tools you want to use at this time. You can always choose to add or remove tools by clicking “Site Info” and choosing “Edit Tools” within the project site.

 

On this screen, you are given the option to re-use materials from another Sakai site. This document provides detailed help if you wish to do this.

You will now decide who can join your project site and view its materials.

  1. Select Publish site to make it available to participants. If you don’t want to publish your site at this time, you can do it later through Site Info.
  2. Choose Private to allow only site participants to access materials. Choose Display in public site list to make the site searchable within Sakai and allow selected materials to be shared outside of Sakai.
  3. You can also allow your site to be “joined” by other Sakai users (students, faculty, and guests users) automatically. Check the box next to Allow anyone to join the site with a valid login id. Use the drop-down list to select a role for users who join your site. Access and Visitor give users a read-only role and Maintain allows users add and edit materials. You may edit the roles of participants individually later.
  4. Hit Continue to finish the page.

 

Under “Confirm Your Site Setup,” review your site information. To make changes, click Back. Click Create Site to submit your project site request.

You will then see your new project site in the list on the “Worksite Setup” page and as a tab at the top of the page. If it is not immediately visible across the top, navigate to your site via the More Sites tab and then use the scroll bar to find the list of your project sites (or use the search box).

 

 

View this example for tips on using your project site.

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Monday, November 14th, 2011 at 3:58 pm and is filed under Project Site Administration. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.