Skip to main content

Duke University

Search or Browse all of Duke University

Category Archives: Project Site Administration

How can I create groups?

Sakai offers many ‘group aware’ tools. This means an assignment, test, forum, event, or announcement can be sent to a limited number of site participants. If you have multiple rosters added to the courses, sections (a type of ‘group’) have already been created and will appear automatically in the group-aware tools. Ad hoc groups can…Read More

What is the difference between a ‘published’ and ‘unpublished’ site?

A site only becomes visible when it is published. Course sites are unpublished by default. You have the choice to publish a project site during the site creation process, but you can choose to reveal it later. Unpublished sites are always available to users who have the role of instructor, teaching assistant, course builder, or…Read More

How do I edit what tools are available?

Enter Site Info and click  Manage Tools at the top of the page. Check or uncheck the tools you wish to add or remove, and then click Continue. Confirm the changes and click Finish.  NOTE: For some tools, you will be prompted to add additional information before finishing.

Creating a Project Site

NOTE: only Duke faculty, staff and students can create project sites. Step-by-step instructions: Log in to Sakai (http://sakai.duke.edu). Go to “Home” and click Worksite Setup. At the top of the “Worksite Setup” page, click New. On the “Site Type” page, select the button next to Project Site and click Continue. Then you will be asked…Read More

How can I find a specific site within Sakai?

You can view and search all of your sites and change your site preferences by clicking on the Sites icon. You can also conduct a search by going to My Workspace > Membership and change your site Preferences in My Workspace as well.

Can I delete a Sakai site?

To prevent users from deleting sites by accident, this option is not activated. If you no longer need a site, the best option is to hide it. First, make sure the site is not published. (Site Info > Manage Access). Be sure the publish box is unchecked and then click Update. Then, if you wish…Read More

What is the difference between hiding and disabling a menu item?

To customize the list of tools on your course site’s menu, go to Site Info > Tool Order Hiding a tool means that regular users (like students) will not see the tool in the menu, but instructors, TAs, and course builders can still see and edit that tool. Links to items in a hidden tool…Read More

What is the difference between public and private in Sakai?

In Sakai, you have the option of making your site and its materials available to a wider audience than your list of registered participants. Making materials or your site ‘public’ does not mean your site or documents can be found through a search engine. If you decide to make materials public, you must give permission…Read More

Statistics: Tracking Users and Resources

The Statistics tool allows authorized users (typically instructors, TAs or site owners) to view site usage statistics and user activity events. Summary statistics can be viewed the initial tool landing page. These summary reports present a quick overview of site usage. Additionally, custom reports may be created on the Reports page for more detailed reporting….Read More

Why can’t I use Toolkits to add participants?

If you see the error message below when you try to add new participants to a site, you may not have the correct permissions to use Toolkits. By default, only the official instructor of the course can access Toolkits. If you are a staff member or teaching assistant who also needs to add participants to…Read More